Uploaded image for project: 'Pentaho Data Integration - Kettle'
  1. Pentaho Data Integration - Kettle
  2. PDI-17345

Adding/Removing a checkpoint causes duplication of <attributes> tag

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Bug
    • Status: Closed
    • Severity: Urgent
    • Resolution: Fixed
    • Affects Version/s: 8.0.0 GA, 8.0.0.5 GA
    • Fix Version/s: 8.2.0 GA
    • Component/s: Job
    • Environment:
      Data Integration 8.X
    • Story Points:
      0
    • Notice:
      When an issue is open, the "Fix Version/s" field conveys a target, not necessarily a commitment. When an issue is closed, the "Fix Version/s" field conveys the version that the issue was fixed in.
    • Steps to Reproduce:
      Hide

      1. Right-click on a job entry and select "Restartable Checkpoint" (a chequered flag is displayed on the hop)
      2. Save the job
      3. Close the job
      4. Open the job again. Right-click on the same job entry and disable "Restartable checkpoint". The chequered flag disappears.
      5. Save the job
      6. Close the job
      7. Open the job again - "Restartable Checkpoint" is still enabled. The chequered flag is still displayed.

      Show
      1. Right-click on a job entry and select "Restartable Checkpoint" (a chequered flag is displayed on the hop) 2. Save the job 3. Close the job 4. Open the job again. Right-click on the same job entry and disable "Restartable checkpoint". The chequered flag disappears. 5. Save the job 6. Close the job 7. Open the job again - "Restartable Checkpoint" is still enabled. The chequered flag is still displayed.

      Description

      The value for CheckpointMark in a kjb file can be equal to Y or N, depending on whether "Restartable Checkpoint" is enabled or disabled.
      If this feature is enabled, the job will be saved correctly.
      If this feature is then subsequently disabled, and then the job is saved and closed, the value of CheckpointMark remains "Y".
      This means that when the job is opened again, the checkpoint is still enabled.

      The opposite of the above steps is also true - if Restartable Checkpoint is enabled, then the job is saved and re-opened, the checkpoint state isn't saved either (see attached screen cast for demo).

      Looking at the XML, this is happening because there is a second <attributes> tag added when the value of CheckpointMark is changed from Y to N or vice versa.

      I would expect the correct behaviour to be that there is only one <attributes> tag, which is over-written when the value of CheckpointMark is changed.

      Please note this issue only seems to happen when saving a job to the file system. It doesn't occur if you're saving jobs to the repository.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            Assignee:
            rrosinha Ricardo Rosinha
            Reporter:
            nmidson Nick Midson
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            3 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated:
              Resolved: